Wii U and the default Warawara Plaza bug

Image

While this technically has nothing to do with game development, I thought I’d go ahead and post this since the internet is void of many answers. The short story is this: My Wii U Warawara plaza was only displaying the default Nintendo Miis as if I wasn’t connected to the internet.

The thing is, it used to work. It used to work just fine. Then one day it stopped. Well, that’s not technically true, I know exactly what I did. When I first set up my Wii U I put my Wife’s Mii as the default user. (It was a gift to her, so that seemed appropriate).  After a few weeks she asked that the default Mii be changed to mine. (I don’t think she liked people using the ‘Yeah!’ function on her drawings and such). So that’s what I did, I changed the default user to my Mii and then Warawara plaza went back to the default plaza… and never changed back.

I searched for weeks trying to figure out how to fix it, but nothing I did worked. I made sure I had set up my Friends list, I could navigate the Miiverse just fine. People I ‘Followed’ in the Miiverse would show up in WaraWara Plaza, but it still didn’t look or act right.

Finally it started working again. I’m not sure ‘exactly’ how, but here’s what I did and why I think it worked. We have several games, each of which we’ve played at least once on the Wii U when the user was my Wife’s Mii. I know that there is cached data saved in the system about each game, and I know there is cached data for every game for every User Profile. After changing to my Mii I didn’t play every game again. I played all except 1: Zombie U. (I’d been wrapped up with Arkham City and Mario Bros). When I finally put the Zombie U disc in yesterday everything in WaraWara started working again. I think that every game needed to have some initialization data saved in the User Profile in order to access the System information.  Since I was missing the Zombie U files, Warawara must have hit a false condition and just hung with the default plaza.

This is all observational, nothing scientific about my theory, but seeing as dozens of other Wii U owners have this issue I thought I’d put this up as a possible solution.

2 Responses to “Wii U and the default Warawara Plaza bug”


  1. 1 Guardian Hero February 1, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    Have you contacted Nintendo about this? They have surprisingly good customer service in place.
    I’ve never switched the main account on my Wii U, but then again, I’ve also never had more than 1 account on my Wii U (all my friends have their own Wii U systems).

    I’ve never had a bad experience on Miiverse regarding my drawings. Were people making inappropriate requests/advances on your wife?

    • 2 Timothy Johnson February 1, 2013 at 9:40 pm

      No, I didn’t contact Nintendo b/c I only have anecdotal evidence. (Being a developer I tend to only open bugs with cold hard logs in hand). I figured a blog post is probably the best place for this kind of story. As for the wife, she wasn’t really getting inappropriate responses, she just wasn’t comfortable being in a spotlight. Women. Go figure.


Leave a Reply

